new bike build

kujo666666

Apr 25, 2006
hello,
I am new to cycling, and i bought a klein q-pron xx frame, and thought i would build it up myself, and was wanting to get some advice/help on doing it, i was wondering wondering about components, are they all compatioble? i was noticing differnt deralilleurs had differnt mm's,
thanks

kujo666666 said:
hello,
I am new to cycling, and i bought a klein q-pron xx frame, and thought i would build it up myself, and was wanting to get some advice/help on doing it, i was wondering wondering about components, are they all compatioble? i was noticing differnt deralilleurs had differnt mm's,
thanks

Sweet frame- see my blog for photos of my Quantum Pro.

Although not completely necessary, you'd probably be best off by choosing either Campy or Shimano for all the drivetrain stuff - ie, shifter/brake levers, brake calipers, crank, both derailleurs, and the cassette. Then within that choice you can mix and match parts from different groups - so you could have Ultegra 10 shifters, 105 brakes, and DuraAce crank... or Chorus shifters, Veloce brakes, and Record crank... whatever works for your budget. Maybe think about starting with your dream components and then start making concessions until you get down to a price you can live with.

Specifically for Kleins - since they have internal derailleur cable routing, make sure you get the barrel adjusters that will work - Campy (last I checked) didn't have any that would work... Shimano has two kinds that will. The guys I know with Klein and Campy don't have any barrel adjusters, but maybe there's something new now.

kujo666666 said:
i was noticing differnt deralilleurs had differnt mm's,
thanks