New Bike: What Type of Bike am I?

FANES

Jul 15, 2014
In the next few days I'm gonna be getting a new bike. My previous bike was a Whyte Portobello. I've been advised by a friend to get a Hardtrail MTB. Based on the information below, what type of bike do you think would be better for me? Road, MTB, Hybrid.. Etc, etc. I'll be using my bike every day (7 days a week) and cycling up to about 20 miles each day. I'll be cycling on the roads of London, so pot holes, glass, unevenness, stupid drivers, careless cyclists and just general crappy unperfect London roads and more need to be taken into consideration. I've been cycling for about 2 years now, confident on the road and I enjoy cycling a lot! I appreciate all relevant replies and thank you for taking the time to read, think and type.

You didn't say a word about trails or off-road, so I would say that a road bike is your best bet. That said, since people don't like the drop bars. You might consider a flat bar road bike if that's the case. If you're running over glass on a regular basis, you're going to want some serious puncture resistance. I've seen gator skins and armadillos recommended. You can add Kevlar puncture guards and sealing gel too.

London?
big-smile.png

Probably this one, in orange!
big-smile.png
(With fenders of course)
big-smile.png

(Cyclocross bike in Aluminium, with fenders and rack fittings.)

Is Khan's in Bayswater still open? How about Beach Blanket Babylon near Notting Hill?
smile.png

Reactions: yuhuanjoan
Frame material should definitely be steel. Groupset is of your choice. Hybrid style would work but I would lean towards a relaxed road. Just make sure you have room to run 28s to 32s (maybe even 35s). Disc brakes aren't a must but they couldn't hurt.

Originally Posted by doctorold
Frame material should definitely be steel.

Steel would be nice... But with all the rain could be challenging in maintenance.

Maybe applying a rust inhibitor first in the inside of the frame?