New Bike . Wow that's uncomfortable

Jools1902

Apr 20, 2014
Hi . I have just joined the site as I am relatively new to cycling. I did go down to Paris last year on my old bike but it was just too much for the old thing to attempt our trip to Brussels this May. I bought a Carrera Zelos 2014 yesterday from Halfords and it's a great looking bike. The trouble is I took it out today on a training run, and it. Is so uncomfortable. The tyres are rock hard and I can literally feel every jolt in the road shoot up into my teeth. This is horrible as I am used to my old bike with lovely comfy tyres. What do I do about this? Are the tyres just bog standard ones? Can you in fact get tyres that won't make you feel like you are riding on rims alone? Also I can shift my saddle back and forth. Should I be bent over a lot when I cycle or more upright? Sorry if this is a really stupid post, as I said I am very new to all this. Thanks Jools

First - welcome aboard! Second - did you have any type of fitting done when you bought the bike? An improperly-fitting bike will be very uncomfortable so you definitely need to look into that. There are a lot of variables involved in a bike fitting so you need to do plenty of research to find a good fitter in your area if the shop you bought the bike from doesn't do fittings.

No I didn't have a fitting. I just sat on the bike to get the saddle height. Should my leg be fully extended ( or just under ) on the downward peddle? It isn't at the moment but when I sit on saddle I am on tip toes so do not know if saddle can be any higher. My saddle can slip both forwards and backwards so thinking maybe move it forward to save me having to reach so far all the time. I have to admit , my first time out on those slim tyres was awful. I felt every bump in the road rattle my teeth. I am thinking maybe swap bike for a hybrid with softer tyres. What are the disadvantages of this? Are there any advantages to a hybrid on the road?