New Campy crank worth the money?

kobyson

Nov 6, 2007
I have been riding a Chorus Carbon 10-speed crankset for a couple years and am now considering going to the new Ultra Torque model. A couple friends, as well as LBSs, say the difference is really noticeable and my bike will surely be more responsive. A couple other friends say, "No way will it make a difference." Any opinions on this matter would be appreciated.

kobyson said:
I have been riding a Chorus Carbon 10-speed crankset for a couple years and am now considering going to the new Ultra Torque model. A couple friends, as well as LBSs, say the difference is really noticeable and my bike will surely be more responsive. A couple other friends say, "No way will it make a difference." Any opinions on this matter would be appreciated.
I have never ridden one, but you might see if someone who has one will let you take a spin on his bike to see if you like them. I really can't see how a crankset will make a bike more responsive but I have been wrong before. Just try it!

Me thinks the only difference will be a lighter wallet.
But I may be biased....I also ride Campy square taper (and aluminium at that :p )
My TT bike has a Veloce ultra-torque crank on it; it was the easiest and cheapest thing to get. I have noticed NO difference between it and the square taper...except the square taper crank spins much easier when not under load (anyone's guess as to if this makes any difference either when pedaling under load....my hunch is that it probably doesn't as well)

kobyson said: