New Cyclist (Hopefully)

windmillninja

Aug 8, 2006
Hi all.

I would really like to start getting into road cycling, but I don't have a clue where to start except that I'm looking at either a Trek or a Cannondale. I'm a fairly big fella, 6'0", 250lbs, so I know size is a factor. Since I'm just getting into it, I don't want to spend a large sum of money on anything. If I can keep my budget at close to $500, that would be great. Any suggestions as to particular models I should begin looking at?

$500 will get you a cheap generic new bike or a better used one on ebay. Right now if I had to start all over again I'd get a Trek Pilot s.p.a. for $1459, the Giant OCR 1 is ok at $900.

One of the good things about cheaper hybrid bikes as opposed to roadbikes is the third chainring with easier hill climbing gears while you're getting in shape. Cannondales are nice but I went with Trek, alot of affordable road-friendly features in the lineup.

I just started riding again over the last few weeks....

The last time I rode a bike it was purely for transportation means. When I did not have a car the bike was the next best thing....

The bike I have now I bought about 6 years ago while living in an apartment. It is very basic mountain bike that I bought from Target and used it only to get from one place to another.

As I said I have started riding agin over the last few weeks.... I do about 10 miles a day 3 or 4 days a week and more on weekends. The main reason for this is to lose some weight and get some cardio workout. I did not go out and buy a fancy bike... I took my old one out of the shed, cleaned it up, filled the tires, and started riding. The ride could be better with more expensive equipment but you know what... it is still good excercise sonsidering it is a $150 bike that is 6 years old.