New cyclist - ready to ride!

mistertrustee

Feb 8, 2010
Hello - newbie here. I have been riding a mountain bike for about 6 years, and am ready to switch over to a road bike. I have looked at Giant and Trek brands. What I am interested in is a bike that will last me (without needing upgrades) for 6 years or so. What should I be looking for, and what price range should I be expecting to find?

I am a 5 foot tall woman, but I have fairly long legs for my height. I was on an XS frame, with a 50 cm something or other. One salesman told me I may not need XS, and that I could even look at a man's bike.

Most of what I found yesterday was between $1200 and $1500, not including pedals. Reasonable?

Also, I am planning to do a 45 mile bike ride in a few weeks, and have been riding inside on a stationary bike to help train due to a lot of rain lately. I am getting 50 miles in at least two to three times a week, but I realize a stationary bike does not have the feel of the road, or the wind resistance. Is there anything else I should be doing to prepare? (Other than getting on the road?;))

Thanks!

Just bought my first road bike last week--though I don't have your MTB experience. My previous bike was a hybrid, which I owned for about a year.

I'm not personally familiar with Giant's current offerings, but I'd think you would be fine with the offerings from any of the big name manufacturers.