New drivetrain for a commuter restore.

jawknee530

Aug 2, 2014
I recently purchased a 1991 Schwinn Crisscross for 7 day a week, year round commuting to school/work/etc as well as some light touring in the nearby hills. My two brothers are into mountain biking and I'm thinking I might keep two wheel sets so I can throw some mountain tires on it and do some light trail riding. I'm pretty tall (6'4") and was amazed to find a bike large enough for me and for just $20 on Craigslist. Fixing up the bike is also going to serve as a fun learning experience and hobby which I'm looking forward to as much as riding the thing. I'm really new to working on bikes and figuring out parts so I'm reaching out for help/advice.

The bike currently has the Suntour XCT derailleurs, X-press shifters, and the 3 x 7 gear set up that came with it back in '91. The drive train is super worn. Lots of chipped teeth and poor shifting on both ends. Also there's a bit of chatter in the BB so I'm thinking I need to get that replaced.

I like having the flat bars on it but am planning to get a new stem that's a bit further back and higher than what it has on it now for a bit more relaxed ride position and I've got that figured out but when it comes to the drive train and shifters I'm pretty lost. I've been doing some reading around the net and am thinking that a 46/32 crankset and a 12-25 10 speed cassette seemed like it would give me the gearing that I would want but when it comes to finding/choosing a proper BB/crankset/shifters/cassette/derailleurs I'm pretty darn lost.