New Guy with a vintage road bike....restore/upgrade or start from scratch?

acuradriver

Jul 3, 2014
Hi everyone!

I'm fresh off the block as far as cycling/bicycles go. I am a mechanic by hobby and profession, and cars for the last 5 years is all I've known. I'm extremely mechanically inclined, but ironically I know nothing about bikes or the workings of them. I've kind of gotten burnt-out modifying and working on cars, and I'd like to switch over to a different hobby for awhile. Long distance cycling by say the beach or somewhere scenic seems very relaxing and a way to get some needed exercise.

My budget is open, but I wanted to gear my topic around an interesting bicycle I've had for many years. I have a 97 year old grandfather who is a WW2 vet, and about 10 years ago he gave me his old road bike. Don't quote me but I "think" it's a 1985 Schwinn Le Tour. When he retired, he put 60 miles round trip on it each day for 5 years until he couldn't do it anymore. The bike has a LOT of sentimental value, and it would be really cool to see it endure and live on. Ideally, I'd like to upgrade it to more current running gear and freshen it up some, but I am really unsure if it's worth it. While it's all there, it's in a general state of neglect and disrepair. Here's a pic: It's pretty much as it was the day he stopped riding it in 1991.

Like I said, if would be awesome to see me get it updated, maybe out of those faded vintage colors (maybe the frame powdercoated) update wear items and get some use out of it.

What do you guys think, Yay? Nay? Go a different route? Let me know!