New here, appreciate some buying advice

uscchamp

May 12, 2011
hello All,

After couple of days of browsing this forum as a guest finally became a member and hope to be active on this cycling forums.

I am 30 yrs old and fairly good shape, although new to the biking.

I am new to cycling and am confused if I have to buy a Hybrid bike or a road bike. I am planning to use the biker for a commute (3 miles majority on pavement, as I don't want to use the road during peak hours and slow down already slow traffic), and around trails ( The trails around my place have nice road and NOT muddy/rough) and probably in Biker events as I get used to the bike eventually.

My main concern is, if I buy a Hybrid bike for comfort, can I do a 100 miler on these when I participate with other road bikes with out being too far behind them?

If I buy a road bike, can use this for commute ? are there any safety concerns with it.

I am looking for some bike where its safe to commute as well as speed enough to do 100 milers and participate in biking events ( NO races though, just causal events)

I am new to cycling and my budget is around $700.00-$900 and would appreciate your response.

I am looking at Trek 7.3 FX and Trek 1.1 or 1.2, I am open for other brands other than Trek but do not know any other good brand though.

I would also appreciate if you could direct me to a good buying guide/references or a newbie FAQ

thanks,
Vick.

Welcome Vick!

If you will only be riding on paved roads and bike paths, then a road bike should work fairly well for you.

But, it also depends on how much "stuff" you need to carry with you on your 3 mile commute. Do you need to have racks on the bike to carry stuff to work, or can you carry that in a backpack?

Hey uscchamp...

You picked a great forum to become active with. I'm pretty new here myself but from what I've seen there are a lot of cool, knowledgable, helpful posters on this forum, but I'm sure you saw that as you watched as a guest.