New here, need suggestions

AndyAdams

Aug 16, 2012
Hi everyone, I am new to cycling and have only had my bike for about a year. I bought a used 2001 Trek AlphaSL 2200 online and I am slowly upgrading and repairing some things. I have been having trouble with flats lately and I think it is due to the tires and type of surface I ride on. I ride roughly 10 miles per day on city streets in my commute to and from work. There is some debri on the road shoulder such as rocks, sticks, and other. I am looking for a tough tire but nothing that is going to produce a whole lot of resistance. Currently I am running 700x23c but I think I may need a wider tire because I am a bigger guy. I am 6'2" and 210lbs. Can anyone suggest an affordable tire? Thanks for the help and I am sorry if I didn't post this in the proper spot.

Originally Posted by AndyAdams .

Hi everyone, I am new to cycling and have only had my bike for about a year. I bought a used 2001 Trek AlphaSL 2200 online and I am slowly upgrading and repairing some things. I have been having trouble with flats lately and I think it is due to the tires and type of surface I ride on. I ride roughly 10 miles per day on city streets in my commute to and from work. There is some debri on the road shoulder such as rocks, sticks, and other. I am looking for a tough tire but nothing that is going to produce a whole lot of resistance. Currently I am running 700x23c but I think I may need a wider tire because I am a bigger guy. I am 6'2" and 210lbs. Can anyone suggest an affordable tire? Thanks for the help and I am sorry if I didn't post this in the proper spot.
I had a period of flat tires myself once. I don't mind an occasional flat.... that's a part of cycling... but it seemed like I was having a flat every time I turned around. I learned a bit about flats in the process of putting an end to my flat problem. Forgive me if my post seems to ramble.