New pedals - opinions?

roadntrail

Mar 17, 2004
I'm picking up my new Cannondale R800 tomorrow, and I'll be buying new shoes and road pedals. I've been riding SPD for quite a few years, but I'm open to suggestions for something different. I'd like to see some opinions on SPD, Time, Look, Speedplay, others? Advantages/diasadvantages, etc...

I'm not a racer, so things like cornering clearance and ultra-light weight aren't priorities.

I'll probably keep my current shoes (old Shimano somethings with recessed cleat) for use with my MTB. I may, however, change pedals/cleats. The Crank Bros "Eggbeater" looks interesting. Anybody have experience with these?

I personally like Look. There are pro's and cons. They are easy to find at a good price. A little heavy. Easy to use. No hot spots. A pain to walk in. Some people say they creak but I have never experienced it.

There are a lot of positive comments on the new Shimano SPD-SL series.

I had a pair of the eggbeater stainless model installed. They are much better than the POS pedals that came with the bike. The bike mech said that I may not want to be sprinting in them as I may come out of them, you know with the side-to-side motion of the bike. I find them very easy to get in and out of. There is no adjustments on them except for the 15 degree or 20degree clipout angle which is determined by the cleats. I got the stainless model because I did not want them to rust.
Greg