New Rider- 2011 Specialized Secteur Triple OR 2011 Trek 1.2

MEH2011

Sep 2, 2011
Hello all,

I am a very new rider looking to buy my first road bike. I know it comes down to personal fit, but I wanted to get opinions on the 2 bikes I am looking at right now (I have 1 more bike shop to visit before making my final choice). Right now, I am looking at these two bikes:

2011 Specialized Secteur Triple: http://www.mybiketinley.com/2011-Spe...e_p_24285.html
OR

2011 Trek 1.2 Road Bike: http://www.thecrazyloon.com/products...1-2-road-bike/

Any advice- pros/cons, etc. would be appreciated.

Just a little background info- 6'0 ft. female, with very long legs & short torso
tongue.gif
, I'm wanting to eventually get into longer charity rides & a century ride down the line. I've been doing spinning regularly for 3 years, and just looking to do something different.

Thanks!

Technically, the Trek has slightly better components - Sora is 1 notch above the 2300 on the Specialized - but I think you wouldn't really notice that difference...

Ride them both - see how they feel - this is much more important than a few minor component differences I think. Try and get them to let you take a longer ride than just around the parking lot. Make sure they give you a proper fitting as well :)

Originally Posted by MEH2011 .

6'0 ft. female, with very long legs & short torso
tongue.gif
How you doin?

On a more serious note, the Trek is better equipped with the Sora/Tiagra 9-speed components. I see the Trek comes with either a double (compact) or triple crankset - which one are you looking at? The triple will give you lower gearing if you plan on tackling steep/long climbs.

Thank you both for the advice! Yeah, I do need to see if it's possible for me to take them both for a longer ride. I'm going to check out one more LBS this weekend, and then make a decision.