New rider looking for advice

otiosity

Oct 12, 2014
I'm fairly new to cycling. I've been using an old department store bike for ~10 mile rides over the past year. The gearing wasn't great for the hills around here, and the brakes finally gave out. Repairs were quoted to cost more than the bike itself, so I've been looking to upgrade. I'm planning to ride about 15 miles a day in the beginning, hopefully working up to regular 50+ mile rides in the future. I'll be riding on pavement, and I'd like the bike to handle year-round weather conditions in addition to our hills. The two features I've convinced myself I'd like are drop bars (based on ride length) and disc brakes (based on PNW weather). My price point is about $1100, and the two models that seem the best fits at the moment are the Novara Strada and the Fuji Sportif 1.1

Am I on the right track? Are there any other options I could consider? If not, is there a clear winner between these two models?

Thanks very much for your help!

FWIW. I don't know if you are on the right track, or not ...
  • But, between the two, I would buy the Novara Strada from REI ... While a "Thru Axle" is probably not as important on a Rigid Fork as it is on a Suspension Fork, it is probably better to have one than not ...
If you aren't a Coop member, then it's worth joining OR use someone else's membership number so they can receive the rebate.

BTW. Let me restate that as ...
  • "Thru Axles" are marginally better when you have disc brakes ...
BUT, people certainly survived for years with disc brakes & Suspension Forks without "Thru Axles."

Ah, I see. I'd read a bit about thru axles, and I got much the same impression - nice to have on a road bike, but by no means required. Thanks so much for your input!

the brand which is good depend on your cost, if the bike is satisfied with your cost ,you can choose this one .