New rider, old man... no base fitness...

KenpoSuzuki

Jan 9, 2011
I'm a disabled veteran, and just pulled the plug and placed a Fuji Roubaix on layaway. Should have it in my hands by my birthday (April). I have pretty much zero fitness base and am looking to try and get into shape to ride for fitness and enjoyment. My goal is to get into good enought shape to do a half century within the year and to eventually go on a century ride with my younger brother (15yrs my junior). I have no idea how to put together any sort of training plan. I will start my training on my mountain bike and move to the Fuji when it is paid off. I have most evenings mon- friday a block of 3 hrs available for training. and every other weekend I can dedicate a whole day to training... I currently am 5'8" tall and weigh in at 225lbs. I was injured in the military in 2001 and it resulted in surgeries on my ankle, knee and lower back. I have been cleared by my Doctors to begin a cycling program and am excited to start... I would welcome any suggestions on how proceed....

Thanks!

Beau

Howdy

Good for you for taking up bike riding - it's a great sport and pastime.

When you get the new bike make sure it's set up to fit you well else you could injure yourself - there is lots of information on the web about how to fit a bike so it might be worth doing a little reading to get some ideas.

Other than that, I wouldn't worry too much about "training". The best thing for you is to just get out and ride to get some miles in so your body can get used to the motions. If you can manage it, I'd start with 8 - 10 miles taking it pretty easy. As your body adapts you'll get faster and then you can add a few more miles. Build your mileage slowly so you don't hurt yourself - you also don't want to overdo it.