New Rider With Questions About Upgrading Shifting And Brakes

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Tennjed, May 8, 2015.

1. Tennjed

Tennjed New Member

New biker here. I bought a Diamondback Kalamar from a Big Box Store and rode it a few weeks then decided to upgrade via craigslist. I gave the Diamondback to my 16 year old son and got a 2010 Specialized Secteur Sport for the road and a new Trek Marlin for off road.

I love the specialized. It makes riding so much enjoyable compared to the heavy hybrid Diamondback. I do not lake the breaks. They seem "rough" and "loud". They do not stop the bike nearly as quickly as the Diamondback or Trek.

I did have a local shop give it a tune up and he said everything was good, but I can't help but wonder if upgraded brakes would be a worthwhile investment. I figure that if I am going to spend money to do the breaks that maybe get a whole new gear shifting setup (everything involved, I am a newbie so my terminology may be off, but I guess the actual shifters on the handle bar and the derailleurs) at the same time. The shifting on it is what seems good, but not great. Occasionally it is "clunky"

So my question is, would it be possible to get both upgrade to a more enjoyable product for around $300 or so? If so, is it something I just buy the parts on my own and take it to the local shop and have them installed, or have them pick the parts out too.

Thanks for helping a new guy

Tags:

2. dabac

dabac Well-Known Member

Road bikes rarely have as powerful brakes as MTBs.
    Looking at the spec, there's nothing actually bad with the stuff you have.
    Sensible things you can do is:
    - clean the rims. I use a scouring pad and rubbing alcohol
    - replace the pads. Kool-stop Salmon has a good rep. Shimano for severe conditions aren't bad either.
    - have the bike recabled with compressionless housing. Jagwire is supposed to make a good one. And some nice die-drawn cables.