New road rider... help with high speed shimmy.

h2otaco

Mar 24, 2011
Hi there... new to the forum... Very nice by the way, really high quality forum.

First, introductions... I've been riding MTBs for 15 years. Racing XC for the last several. I consider myself a fair cyclist, and a fair bike mechanic. I have 5 bikes in the garage, 2 Roadies (one carbon, one steel) a 29" SS hardtal MTB, a 29" Full suspension XC race rig, and 26" hardtail. I'm new to road cycling, as I'm using it for cross training for the MTB season. haven't thrown my leg over a road bike since 1995 (the steel road bike mentioned above).

So, on with the high speed shimmy/wobble topic.

Last night I went on a group ride with hundreds of participants. I got in a group of fast racer guys and was just hanging on for dear life. We hit a short steep hill and got up to 40mph or so when I noticed my bars starting to shake. It was a little unnerving so I backed it off with a little rear brake, and didn't think anything of it. After about 2 hours of pedal pounding and hanging on to the back of the group I lost contact a little bit. So I used a long descent to try to get back on... In a fog of lactic acid, I had forgotten about the earlier shimmy experience. All was well until I hit about 56mph... I was still gaining speed in a tuck when I noticed the bars start to wobble again. The wobble started small but got worse and worse until I actually started to feel unstable, not a good feeling at highway speeds. First I tried steadying the bars by force, no good, then I tried relaxing... no good. So I started to scrub speed by feathering the rear brake, bringing the speed down to about 30-35. Wobble went away, but I'll never forget it. Just before I got on the brake I felt like I might actually lose control of the bike.