New (road) tires for a cannondale F400 mountain bike?

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Hector13

I am new to biking, but I plan to use my bike solely for exercise by biking around the new york city
area (ie, on "paved" roads mostly, not on any mountains).

I plan to do some 30-50 mile rides over this summer and I have heard of people putting thin
("slick"?) tires on their mountain bikes.

My question is, is this an easy/possible thing to do on my bike? The current tires on the bike are
2.1" (I believe). Can I just get a set of 1.25s or 1.5s and throw them on the bike or do I need to
get new tubes as well? Also, when people say "slicks" do they mean tires that are 1.25 to 2" or can
you actually get road-size tires for a mountain bike (I mean in width, I realize they have different
diameters).

Lastly, if it is possible, is it something a newbie could do with perhaps the help of a bike
maintenance book (any recommendations)?

Thanks for any help.

On Mon, 31 Mar 2003 22:09:37 -0500, hector13 wrote:

> I plan to do some 30-50 mile rides over this summer and I have heard of people putting thin
> ("slick"?) tires on their mountain bikes.
>
> My question is, is this an easy/possible thing to do on my bike? The current tires on the bike are
> 2.1" (I believe). Can I just get a set of
> 1.25s or 1.5s and throw them on the bike or do I need to get new tubes as well?

You need new tubes, since the old ones are for fatter tires. But they are $2-4 per tube, nothing to
lose sleep over.

> Also, when people say "slicks" do they mean tires that are
> 1.25 to 2" or can you actually get road-size tires for a mountain bike

Not really road size (23-25mm or so -- less than an inch) since your rims are wider than road rims.
But you can easily find 1.25 and maybe even a bit smaller.

> Lastly, if it is possible, is it something a newbie could do with perhaps the help of a bike
> maintenance book (any recommendations)?