New (road) tires for a cannondale F400 mountain bike?

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Hector13, Apr 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hector13

Hector13 Guest

I am new to biking, but I plan to use my bike solely for exercise by biking around the new york city
    area (ie, on "paved" roads mostly, not on any mountains).

I plan to do some 30-50 mile rides over this summer and I have heard of people putting thin
    ("slick"?) tires on their mountain bikes.

My question is, is this an easy/possible thing to do on my bike? The current tires on the bike are
    2.1" (I believe). Can I just get a set of 1.25s or 1.5s and throw them on the bike or do I need to
    get new tubes as well? Also, when people say "slicks" do they mean tires that are 1.25 to 2" or can
    you actually get road-size tires for a mountain bike (I mean in width, I realize they have different
    diameters).

Lastly, if it is possible, is it something a newbie could do with perhaps the help of a bike
    maintenance book (any recommendations)?

Thanks for any help.

Tags:

2. hector13 wrote:
    >
    > My question is, is this an easy/possible thing to do on my bike? The current tires on the bike are
    > 2.1" (I believe). Can I just get a set of 1.25s or 1.5s and throw them on the bike or do I need to
    > get new tubes as well? Also, when people say "slicks" do they mean tires that are 1.25 to 2" or
    > can you actually get road-size tires for a mountain bike (I mean in width, I realize they have
    > different diameters).

Yes! You can get 1" slicks, which are very close to a 25mm road tire. You _MAY_ need new tubes, but
    don't worry, tubes only cost about $4 each. Try the tubes you have first. Narrower tires (1") will
    feel like they roll slightly faster, while wider (1.5"+) slicks will seem a bit softer and deal with
    large potholes better.

> Lastly, if it is possible, is it something a newbie could do with perhaps the help of a bike