New Roadie Needing an Opinion

Shortbus901

May 10, 2007
I'm pretty new to the road scene having been a MTB'er for a few years now. I'm looking for a road bike sub $1000 that will be comfortable for long distance riding with the eventual goal of riding century+ rides.

Thus far I've ridden most of the major entry level rides I can find in the local shops. The leading two up until today were the Giant OCR and the Bianchi Via Nirone (that Celeste color is mesmerizing). I've tried the Allez and the Trek 1000 and was not very impressed with either. Also found a Scott dealer and while the bikes are pretty bad @$$ looking I think (LBS agreed) that they are probably more agressive than what I want. Today I rode a Lemond Versailles and was absolutely blown away by the difference in ride quality and comfort compared to the aluminium bikes. The bike shop has the '06 model on closeout for $1199 which I can afford but is a bit out of my budget mainly b/c I am not sure I wanted to spend that much for a first ride. The searches I've run are kind of hit or miss but most reviews seem positive and I know I like the bike far better than anything else I've ridden. I guess I'm just wondering if this is a suitable ride for what I'm looking to do and if that seems like a fair price for it. They also had me on a 55 cm which felt ok to me but is smaller than what most of the other LBS's put me on riding other models. I am 6' not sure of inseam but the guy that measured me said I had relatively short legs for my height. Does 55 seem unreasonable based on that (very limited, I know) description? Thanks in advance for any advice.

I completely understand the dilemma as I was in the same process as you are going through. $1K budget, I can afford more but do I want to pay more, etc. etc. I'll share my experience and you can apply it, if you chose.