New SPD 959 Pedals

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Patrick

I've been riding the new Shimano 959 pedals for a few months, and I don't know if it's just me but
they seem very difficult to unclip. Previously I rode 757s for years and I didn't have nearly the
trouble getting out in hairy situations that I'm having with the 959s. BTW, I also ride a road bike
with Times, so I'm no clipless newbie. The tension settings on the 959s don't seem to help really -
if I lower it just one notch I'm unclipping by mistake all the time. Anyone else using these pedals
notice this problem?

-Patrick

ive been using mine for a few months and have had no problems, in fact the better mud clearence and
very nice feel have impressed me.

panda

"Patrick" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> I've been riding the new Shimano 959 pedals for a few months, and I don't know if it's just me but
> they seem very difficult to unclip. Previously I rode 757s for years and I didn't have nearly the
> trouble getting out in hairy situations that I'm having with the 959s. BTW, I also ride a road
> bike with Times, so I'm no clipless newbie. The tension settings on the 959s don't seem to help
> really - if I lower it just one notch I'm unclipping by mistake all the time. Anyone else using
> these pedals notice this problem?
>
> -Patrick

No, don´t have any problems with mine, had them for a year. You could try the multirelease cleats.
Some hate them but as an old alpine skier I appreciate them alot ás they release more easily from
all angels.

Per http://user.tninet.se/~ipg289h/fu99/MTB.html

"Patrick" <[email protected]> skrev i meddelandet
> I've been riding the new Shimano 959 pedals for a few months, and I don't know if it's just me but
> they seem very difficult to unclip. Previously I rode 757s for years and I didn't have nearly the
> trouble getting out in hairy situations that I'm having with the 959s. BTW, I also ride a road