new to biking, need advice

carin1976

Jul 20, 2005
Okay, so i've been doing spinning class for well over 2 years. I would really like to buy a road bike to actually move when I pedal. In any case, does anyone have any good suggestions as to a beginner road bike? I don't want to spend more than maybe $400. I'm trying to find a good type of bike for me, then maybe purchase on e-bay. Also, i live in New Orleans and it is INCREDIBLY hot right now, so I want to make sure i'll actually ride the bike before forking out the cash for a really good one. Also, what size? I'm 5'5". I think my last bike was a 19".. does that sound right? I appreciate ANY help. :)

i think a 19" frame sounds a weee bit too big for your height! A 19" frame is equivalent to a large. I am 5'4" and I ride an extra small.

Framing sizes vary a bit. Best thing to do is to go into a shop with a bit of variety in bikes and get them to fit one to you.

carin1976 said:
thank you so much! I appreciate your input.
I would like to reiterate that the fit of the bike is THE MOST IMPORTANTfact to consider when purchasing a bike. Generally speaking, a bike with better components will be lighter, easier to ride and of course, more expensive. In your price range, you may want to consider looking for a used bike so that you can get a better bike than a new one with components that are lesser in quality. -- Just a thought.

i totally agree. My goal has been to find a good quality used bike and make sure that it's something i'm going to stick with, and then upgrade my bike later on. I dont want to sacrafice the quality of the bike for the price. trying to find that happy medium, i guess... I've had some trouble finding a used bike, but hopefully, i'll find one soon. thanks for your advice and input!!