new to cycling and have a few questions

flagrl

Aug 20, 2012
im 21 and im new to cycling i have this bike, yes it is from walmart http://www.walmart.com/ip/Schwinn-700c-Men-s-Crossfit-Road-Bike/19582526, but i love it and its perfect for me right now, i first got it because it my means of transportaion besides the bus, im a college kid, but i have started going on longer bike rides, about 12-14 miles, and i really enjoy it. so i was wondering, about the clothes, i see people have them and i just thought they were a waste of money, but ive been reading, and they are not lol, but i was wondering, i have a pair of strech yoga pants, kinda like under armor kind of thing, will that work just the same until i am able to get some, hopefully here in the next few weeks, hopefully? or should i just wait? do i really need cycling shoes? sorry im new to all this, any advice you can give me about anything would be great, thank you in advanced oh and right now im riding 12-14 miles at a time, do you think if i pushed myself in 8 months time i could be riding 30 miles at a time or is that unrealistic?

oh right now im only riding about 12-14 miles do you think in 8 months time if i really pushed myself i could ride 30 miles at a time?

It's all about how comfortable you feel and also your wallet mate, if ya have the money for it go get you a nice pair of bibs from your local bike shop or from performance if ya have one near, as far as cycling shoes yes they are better but only if you are thinking about going clipless on your pedals, you won't be able to use yer shoes if you don't change the pedals you have now..no worries about asking questions mate we all learn from scratch..

Last question first: At your age, and if you are reasonably fit, you can be riding 30 - 50 miles within a few weeks if you train just a few days weekly.