New to cycling. Looking to buy first bike.

roadkill86

Sep 30, 2014
I am new to cycling. Haven't ridden in years. I'm in the market to buy a bike. I'm going to be riding mainly 15 to 20 miles per day and want to work my way up to half centuries and centuries eventually. I'm going to be riding mainly hwy and some gravel roads. Should I opt for a hybrid or road bike? Looking mainly at Giant and Trek brands. Would like to stay under 1000.00 for my first bike but would like for it to last for awhile before I upgrade. Is it possible to get a bike for that price to meet my needs or not? Thanks for any input. If you have a different brand of bike you'd like to recommend, I am open to suggestions. Thanks for all your help.

You're definitely going to want a drop bar road bike if you plan on doing 50+ mile rides eventually. Buy what you need now or you'll end up buying a road bike in a few months. Trek and Giant are both good brands. Other manufacturers with good bikes in your price range include Cannondale, Felt, and Scott (and many more, but those are my preferences). Your budget is plenty to find you something that will last you for quite awhile if you want it to - especially at this time of year when you're likely to find a lot of past year models on sale.

Have you test ridden any bikes so far or do you have a specific model in mind you're looking at? If I were in your position, I'd go test ride these:

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-us/bikes/model/defy.3/18733/76110/#specifications

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/road/performance_race/1_series/1_2/#

http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2015/Bikes/road/endurance/z95.aspx

http://www.cannondale.com/nam_en/2015/bikes/road/elite-road/caad8/caad8-7-sora