New to Cycling, looking to upgrade components.

Roverno

Nov 24, 2012
Hi all,

I have had my Apollo Slant bike for about 4 months now and i ride to work every day, about 3 miles a day. Also take it out for some light off road on the weekend, about 20-35 miles. I only paid about £150 at the time but now it's coming up to Christmas i would like to try and get some new parts for my bike to improve my riding experience.

I am probably going to be able to spend around £200-250, maybe a little more at a push but since i am very new to cycling i am unsure as to how this might be well spent. I know a lot about buying computer hardware and often there are parts that stand out as being excellent for their price bracket so i'm sort of looking for parts like this within a fairly low cost price bracket. A friend of mine suggested front and rear derailleurs as well as brakes but this was only a suggestion and is definitely not a fixed decision.

Would love to see what suggestions you can come up with.

This is the bike: http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_762075_langId_-1_categoryId_165499

Thanks.

It doesn't make a lot of sense to put 200 into upgrades on a 150 bike.

Oops, double post. Ride your bike. Buy mini pump, patch kit, inner tube. Seat bag. Helmet. Bike shorts. Gloves, jersey, jacket, tights, socks. Bike shoes. Bike computer. Bell.

Well i was under the impression that i could take whatever i buy with me along the way as i eventually upgrade all the parts of the bike? (this is what i do in computing you see)

What would you recommend? Just save the money until i can get enough for a decent bike?

Originally Posted by qdc15 .

Oops, double post. Ride your bike. Buy mini pump, patch kit, inner tube. Seat bag. Helmet. Bike shorts. Gloves, jersey, jacket, tights, socks. Bike shoes. Bike computer. Bell.