New To Cycling / What Products Do I Really Need?

gnzalez7

Apr 7, 2015
Hello everyone,

Just purchased my 1st bike and I am no pro so please be kind to me since I am new to the sport of cycling.
I see so many products out there for this sport but I figured I'd ask others who have experience in this as to what products do I REALLY need?

I am planning to go on long rides with a group so I just need some guidance from some seasoned cyclists as yourselves.

Thank you for all your help.... :)

Well, you need the bike.
A helmet is a sensible thing and may be required either by law or to let you participate in organized events.
You also need the tools, parts and skills to be able to fix a flat along the road. So at a minimum 1-2 spare tubes, tire levers and a pump/CO2 inflator.
Planning for rides of more than one hour? Water bottle and holder.
2-3 hours? Carry a snack.
Padded bicycle shorts aren't mandatory, but they help.
Jerseys, sweaters and jackets can be improvised. Main thing you don't want them too floppy or billowing. Although bike clothes do tend to work better.
Shoes with a stiff sole. Or bike shoes with cleats.
Get some solo rides in first. To ride in a group you need decent bike control skill not to be a danger to others.
And it's no fun trying to join a group if your fitness level is too different from the group average.

Reactions: gnzalez7
Helmet
Bottle cage
Bottle
Two tire levers
Small frame pump
2 spare tubes
Bike multi tool
Floor pump w pressure gauge
Rear red light if u are on roads w traffic
Front light if ur on roads at dusk or later

I like a saddle bag to put my flat repair stuff in.

Fenders are optional

Skip the cycle geek clothing.

A basic cycling computer is good to have. A speed only unit should run about $20. If you plan on upping your performance, consider getting a model with cadence as well as speed.