New to Cycling

fastredhead42

Jul 13, 2007
Hey everyone i'm brand new to cycling and want to get a road bike. I'm a distance runner that has always admired the sport of cycling and I want to start. Being new to the sport I don't know what kind of bike to look for, where to find a descent bike, or how much they're going to cost. I don't want to spend a lot amount of money because i'm just starting out. Can anyone help me out?

Please give us some clues, like price range, riding purpose, etc... Otherwise you will not get answers.

ttopaz said:
Please give us some clues, like price range, riding purpose, etc... Otherwise you will not get answers.
Not sure where to post this since it's not letting me post my own topic. I would like to start biking myself and have several bikes that I picked up through the years of just recreational biking. I want to sell some of them and keep one or two for myself, I tried to look up pricing but it has been quite confusing so I thought I'd try this forum.

Not sure if any of these would even be good enough for getting into more serious biking and I'm going to sound completely clueless on this, because I am. Perhaps just directing me to some good books on the subject would be helpful.

The one bike I have I won at a raffle last year. It says Shimano on the frame and on the gears and nothing anywhere else. Not sure how to measure the frame size but it seems good for me and I'm 5'5". It's a mountain bike. Mens frame

Another I got from my ex husband who purchased it from someone else. He said it was an expensive bike in it's day. He bought it about 10 years ago. It says City Lite one and Citysport. I'm guessing by the wheels that it's a road bike since they are skinnier than the mountain but not to thin. Mens frame. It's smaller than the above frame.

The last bike I'm thinking of using or selling is a smaller womans mountain bike that I got from my friend who was only 5'2". I may give this one to my mom. It says Apache and Pacific on it.