new to swimming, need recommendations

Discussion in 'General Fitness' started by Micah McDaniel, Sep 13, 2003.

1. Hi,

I've never tried swimming for exercise before, but as I get older, running 5-6 days a week is
    beginning to take a toll on my knees, so I thought I'd give swimming a try. Lord knows it's warm
    enough here in Austin.

So I'm looking for recommendations from the veterans out there for good sources of info for a
    beginner ( a book, a website, etc.) Or if you feel like writing more, a weekly program for a
    beginner would be nice (or any info you'd like to share).

Thanks and sorry if I'm asking questions that are answered in a faq somewhere that everyone knows
    about but me.

Micah

Tags:

2. Spider Gc

Spider Gc Guest

Total Immersion is an excellent book. I read the book, bought the freestyle video, got some tips and
    started working out. The really big help came however, when I joined a local Masters Swim club. Our
    coach was well versed in the TI discipline. With her encouragement and teaching, what I read and saw
    on tape began to make sense. I now have a more fluid stroke and have reduced my stroke count for 50
    yards almost in half with less effort and quicker time. Like you, my knees snap crackle and pop but
    I am more at ease swimming than I am at running.

As for a program, I hate regimentation. I'd say work on getting in swim shape first, then develop
    your own routine, based on other programs. Just keep at it. I was barely able to make a half mile
    at the beginning, but am now working toward 2 miles per session, five days a week. Swim Magazine
    and Swimming World Magazine are good for motivation, covering the Master level, as well as the
    junior swimmers.

Good luck and have fun.

Greg

"Micah McDaniel" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > Hi,
    >
    > I've never tried swimming for exercise before, but as I get older, running 5-6 days a week is