New to the forum, and picked this up

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by higsmck92, Nov 15, 2010.

1. higsmck92

higsmck92 New Member

I just moved to austin, texas and decided to get a roadbike, but i didnt have the money to buy a new bike and I would rather start with an oldschool project bike so I searched around and found this beauty...

[​IMG]

1964 JC Higgins Race Bike. I know I brake cables and the rims are bent pretty badly. If you go through my flickr youll see other pictures of her. I am a highschool student so i dont have much money to spend on her right now but could you guys show me a website or let me know where i can buy some relatively cheap wheels that will get the job done and will last long enough. The wheels are brand new. I spent about an hour the other day working on the gears and they are all running smoothly. The wheels on it right now are
    27 x 1 1/4. help me out please!

Tags:

2. oldbobcat

oldbobcat Well-Known Member

Do you need tires or wheels? The wheel is the assembly that includes the hub, spokes, and rim. The tire is the rubber part that makes contact with the ground. There's a tube in there, too, of course.

27" replacement wheels are rare now, 27" tires less so. This is because no new bikes are being made with 27" wheels. Many shops stock 27" tires (and tubes that will fit them), but 27" wheels will be a special order item. Niagaracycles.com is one internet dealer that might have 27" wheels.

Regardless of whether you need tires, wheels, or tubes, your local shop should be able to help.

3. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

Wow .. that was a NICE FIND!

Although the bike shows signs of having been forgotten-and-neglected, believe it or not, that was actually a pretty nice bike at one time ...