New to the forums, and questions on first race

MNcyclingKid

Aug 26, 2010
Hi everyone, I'm a 14 year old cyclist living in central MN. This is my first year of serious cycling, and I can say with confidence that it will remain one of my passions my entire life. I bought my first road bike last May, a 2010 specialized allez, and I've been totally hooked ever since. I got into cycling because of a friend of mine, and we do the weekly rides with our local bike shops each week. A couple weeks ago we finished our first century rides, biking a total of 300 miles in 4 days (two days of century rides). This Saturday we have our first road race, and I thought joining the forums before the race just to get any more info on racing might be a good idea. The race is 18.6 miles, with a .6 mile climb at the finnish. The goal is to get us both on the podium, and we think that we're both capable of making that happen (not to sound arrogant). We would be racing cyclists 14 and under. This will actually be my friends second race, he finished his first race last weekend, and ended up second in his division. I've gotten some great advice on racing from a couple of the guys we bike with on the weekly rides, but what I really would like to know right now is if I should be doing anything in these days before the race? I haven't been on the saddle since Tuesday, and have been resting up for race day. Is it a good idea to not be riding at all before the race? or should I plan a short easy ride tonight or tomorrow to keep my legs warmed up? As for other preparations, we're planning on having a big pasta dinner tomorrow, and I've been hydrating like crazy. Is there any other tips or advice I should consider before the race? Thanks, and sorry for the long post. Joe

MNcyclingKid said: