New to the sport.. A couple basic questions.

DamianT

Jul 20, 2010
So, I'm a newbie and just got a cheap Mongoose XR100, admittedly not the best, but I didn't see the point in going all in right off the bat not knowing any more than I do. Anywho, I've heard complaints from other XR100 owners of saddle comfort or lack thereof and crank arm integrity. I've already fixed the saddle problem along with the stem (too long, effectively "locking out" the rear suspension). But what would be a decent crank arm replacement? I'm not looking for best of the best stuff, just something sturdier than stock (Prowheel 3# 170mm). Also I'm fairly long legged, 34" inseam and I'm only 6' 0", would a 175 maybe increase comfort along with leverage? Lastly, what would be a good dérailleur system, front and rear, the Shimano is very jerky, maybe just loose, but it feels bad. But any brand and model names would be very helpful, as I have no idea where to start searching and what are quality parts. Thanks, and good riding.

You may simply need to lube & adjust the cables + grease/oil the derailleur pivots.

You will definitely benefit by getting cranks with 175mm arms ...

Shimano makes components across the entire price spectrum ... only the least expensive Shimano components should be ignored.

I'm a big fan of Shimano's OCTALINK BBs. The Octalink is a little dated in this world of external BB bearings, but the Octalink BBs are very reliable, IMO. ISIS may seem to be comparable, but I don't think the ISIS BBs are as reliable.

If you lube-and-adjust your cables & subsequently determine that the current Shimano derailleurs are not functioning properly then "plain" DEORE will suffice. But, if you go to eBay you should be able to get an "old" XT (750) in very good condition for about $30 ... so, that's what I would recommend.