New to the sport, and need help?

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by Cali2010, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Cali2010

Cali2010 New Member

Hello everyone, I am new to this form so if this is posted in the wrong place I apologize in advance, I have decided to get in to road biking however I don’t know much about it (well nothing about it really...) I have read many posts that are against buying a cheap road bike but unfortunately at this time it is the only option. I have also read to just buy a used bike for the same amount of money however like I mentioned I know nothing about road biking. I can fix things as I am a car mechanic but when it comes to bikes I wouldn’t know the parts to buy. I live in Sacramento, CA I would like to stick around $300, don’t know if my specs effect the bike but if so I’m a 23 yr, Male, 5'9", 180 lbs, and so far the only things I have found have been the following (is one better then the other), but as I have read to stay away from big box store bikes, any helpful feed back to help out would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Buy Vilano TUONO 21SPD Shimano Road Bike at Wholesale Prices

Walmart.com: 700c Men's Schwinn Varsity Road Bike: Bikes, Scooters & Skates

Tags:

2. Billcycle

Billcycle New Member

Welcome to the forum and cycling! A lot of us are just starting or restarting out, so you're in good company.

One of the most consistent pieces of advice you're going to find as you get into the sport is that how the bike fits you is really the most important thing--an ill-fitting bike can be painful to ride for any significant amount of time, and if it's painful, you're not going to want to stick with it.