New To This - Changing Flats

jnorth51

May 5, 2006
Hi all.

New to the board. I have been riding a mountain bike only for the past 3 years and just recently bought a ride bike. I am picking it up next week. I can't wait.

However, here's the issue, since I had my mountain bike, I have only had one flat! And one of the guys I was riding with fixed it on the side of the trail in a very short period of time. That was it.

Now that I have a road bike, I am nervous about having to change flats (as i haven't changed a flat in YEARS). :eek: I mean, I have a pump, patch kits, tire levers, etc, I just wouldn't know where to start. I want to become effient at this so are there any online resources that someone can point me to so I can get some pointers in order to be better equipped at this?

Thanks so much (sorry for the basic question!)

The google link is good. I would add three points.

1. You don't have to pull the tire completely off the rim to change a clincher. You can pull one side off and remove the tube, check the tire and put on the new tube without ever removing the other side from the rim.
  2. I reemphasize the point about checking the inside of the tire before putting the new tube in. Sometimes the cause of the flat is an extremely small metal object that protrudes far enough through the tire to puncture the tube, but very hard to see or feel. If you put a new tube in without finding and removing the object, you will flat again immediately.
  3. You will probably reinflate with a CO2 pump. It is very logical to position the valve at the top of the wheel because it's easiest to reach. It hasn't happened to me, but I have heard of tubes blowing out at the top as they are reinflated. I suppose this is partially a function of how rapidly the air goes in. Anyway, I always position the stem on the bottom when I reinflate a new tube.

RapDaddyo said: