New to this, uneducated with fitness.

walla

Feb 7, 2006
Hi all, this is my first post because this is new to me. I am looking to train in the gym by cycling. I started last week and rode for an hour. Then i was sore for a few days that stretching alone couldnt prevent, so i took a few days off.

Monday and yesterday though, I biked for 1 hour at a time (15 Miles) and feel fine. I will do it again today and tomorrow and friday. Is this good for someone starting. The machine i use is one of those technogym bikes and has a lot of info about Kcals, BPM's, Distance, etc.. but there is no way to program information into it. After an hour it will say total distance, kcals, etc..

My guess is the kcal's can't be right because my weight, etc.. isn't inputted in. It says like 500 Kcal's in an hour (15 miles).

Is this good for starting? I am 5'11" and 200 pounds and am looking to shed some weight. do you think biking 15 miles a day (5-days a week) will shed weight and fat?

I'm new to this and very uneducated when it comes to fitness. Thanks for your help

Hi Walla,

Any kind of exercise will help you lose fat if you eat sensibly.

Take it easy at first and build up your intensity and vary the type of exercise you do.

500 Calories might be correct, because that's around what my Polar HR monitor tells me I've burned after a 45 minute spinning session.

Have a look here:

http://www.cptips.com/

It's a good place to start.

Good luck with the training

walla said:
Hi all, this is my first post because this is new to me. I am looking to train in the gym by cycling. I started last week and rode for an hour. Then i was sore for a few days that stretching alone couldnt prevent, so i took a few days off.