New to Touring and looking start off with a bang.

Big Lowry

Nov 7, 2007
I stumbled across this forum while trying to research touring bikes. I'm new to cycling in general but I am a fitness enthusiast and decided cycling is going to be my next great out door fitness activity. Three of my friends and I are planing to do a tour from New Jersey to California in the span of about 2 months. My problem is that I can't decide on what Bike I should be throwing my money down on.

Today I found a deal on a '04 Sequoia Specialized Elite for $675 US. After reading a number of posts here it seems that this bike really isn't suited for a 2 month tour.

I'm 6 foot 4 inches and about 225 pounds and have no real idea what I'm doing when it comes to bikes. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

Thank you in advance.

Check out crazyguyonabike web site, it may give you some ideas.
I personally use a converted mountain bike but realise this is not for everyone.
Things I have read that should be considered given your weight is that Trek and Fugi touring bikes suffer from rear wheel problems, one has weak spokes and the other has weak rims (can't remember which is which).
The Surly long haul trucker might be a place to start looking or if you like aluminium, Cannondale have a couple of options.
How you are going to carry your gear will also need to be considered (Panniers or a Bob style trailer). If you are going to use a Bob you don't need to consider pannier mounts or heel clearance.
I own both panniers and a Bob but prefer the panniers especially in the mountains and gravel roads where I like to tour.
On the other hand most of my touring companions use only Bob trailers and swear by them or haven't tried anything else. This allows them to do some heavy duty mountain biking once the trailer is unhooked at the campsite, whereas my bike is a bit limited on the trails due to the rigid forks and racks etc.

cruisin said: