New to walking (in any predictable manner)...

D

Dan Birchall

I've been walking since I was about 13 months old, but other than periods where I lived close enough
to work (say, within 5 miles) to walk regularly, it's not been very scheduled or anything like that.

I'm almost 6' and about 220 these days, and although I'm "big-boned," I'd prefer to be a good bit
lighter than that. My schedule is such that I don't have the time to go walk for 10 miles, either.
My lungs are in pretty good shape, so I go hiking (crazy places, like by lava flows, and above
10,000 feet) when I can, but that's not regular enough to have an impact on weight.

So I used my bike to measure the distance around the block, which nicely turned out to be right
about a mile (1.01, minus a smidge due to my feet cornering tighter than my bike) and have decided
to walk around it in the morning and at night. This morning I walked with my wife and it took 15:08;
this evening before dinner I walked solo, went as fast as I could, and it took 13:20. (I'm not
"speedwalking," "racewalking" or whatever that I *know* of.)

I'll probably see what I can accomplish weight-wise with just walking for a while -- I really don't
want to subject my knees to running with this much excess weight.

Anyway, just figured I'd say hi and stuff.

--
Perfer et obdura; dolor hic tibi proderit olim. | http://dan.birchalls.net/

Dan,

Your thinking not to run at your current weight is good. I'm about 5'11" and about 200 lbs. at this
point but was about 220 4-5 months ago. Fortunately for me I was very active for a couple of months
and lost about 10-15 lbs. before I began to walk/run so I did begin to jog a little at first and
have increased the amount I jog slowly since then.

You will get most all of the same benefits from walking only. When you have lost some weight and
begin to feel a bit lighter then you can start to jog very short distances then gradually increase