NewB thinking about buying Trek 1000

MDG23

Apr 23, 2007
Hey guys and gals,
Im brand new to the whole cycling thang. A friend got me interested in it and I was able to go to San Fransisco to watch the Tour of California and I am getting really intersted. I live in Northern California and am literally like half of a mile away from a bike trail that spreads 30-50 miles. I have been working out in the gym since I was about 13-14 and I am almost 17 now. I think I am in pretty good shape so I have no scare to start riding. IM doing it because it looks so relaxing and I wouldnt mind dropping a few pounds. Anyway, I went to the local bike shop and started talking to thema nd they suggested a good starting bike would be the Trek 1000. What do you think? Also, how do I judge what size I need (48,50,52,54,56,58,60,.). Thank you so much in advance and I cant wait to start!

I really cannot give you any advice concerning a Trek 1000, never rode one. Your best bet would be to join your local bicycling club and let them guide you for your bicycle purchase. They will know what you want it for and can make suggestions without worrying about getting a sale, commissions, etc.

Concerning size, any "good" LBS should be able to help you size the bicycle correctly. You can also get guidance from the bicycling club concerning this. The first thing that you should do, though, is join your club and then let them advise you. The worst that can happen is that you don't like their advise and ignore it.

MDG23 said:
Hey guys and gals,