Newbie – Need direction / advice

K

Krishna Sriniva

Hi All,

I am new to running (been running for about a month now) and just love my 45 minute workout in the
sweet summer evening. Am looking to loose weight and feel good in general. Would like to know if I
am on the right path.

1. I start off with a brisk 1 kilometer walk followed by a kilometer of slow running (or should I
say jog), a kilometer of brisk walking, another kilometer of running and end it with the last
kilometer walk
2. The session lasts 45 minutes, averaging 9 minutes a kilometer
3. I run on a asphalted road that includes a gradual climb (about half a kilometer)
4. On reaching home I get a glass of cold lemonade and am alive again
5. I don't stretch before or after the workout. Am guessing working all day takes care of that

Is what I am doing adequate and how can I build on this?

Krishna Srinivasan.

Krishna Srinivasan wrote:
> Hi All,
>
> I am new to running (been running for about a month now) and just love my 45 minute workout in the
> sweet summer evening. Am looking to loose weight and feel good in general. Would like to know if I
> am on the right path.
>
> 1. I start off with a brisk 1 kilometer walk followed by a kilometer of slow running (or should I
> say jog), a kilometer of brisk walking, another kilometer of running and end it with the last
> kilometer walk
> 2. The session lasts 45 minutes, averaging 9 minutes a kilometer
> 3. I run on a asphalted road that includes a gradual climb (about half a kilometer)
> 4. On reaching home I get a glass of cold lemonade and am alive again
> 5. I don't stretch before or after the workout. Am guessing working all day takes care of that
>
> Is what I am doing adequate and how can I build on this?
>
> Krishna Srinivasan.

You are starting well. 45minutes is a long time for a beginner, but mixing running and walking is
the right approach. Some suggestions: