newbie ? about lbs

Hsudo

Oct 8, 2003
Sorry for the dumb questions, but I'm very new to biking. I've only bought a used bike once, and so I don't know how to deal with local bike stores at all. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I looked in this forum and others, including the Beginner's one but couldn't find advice on how to haggle or negotiate with a lbs for the best price.

I am interested in a 2004 Trek 6700. MSRP is about $770. I've only gone to a few stores so far, and $699 is the lowest I've seen so far.

I would like any advice or tips on getting the best price. Anything specific I can say or do? For example, I heard bike stores sometimes may give discounts to certain bike club members.

So for a bike with a retail price of $770, what should I consider to be a good price? Is $699 probably the best deal I'll get?

Is it possible to ask salesperson for "out the door price" meaning no sales tax?

Also, what are the typical perks/benefits one gets when buying a new bike from a store? I've gotten the impression that a few free tune ups can be thrown in. But I read elsewhere that a person was able to get life-time service or something like that. So what's common? Is life-time tune-ups unheard of and too much to ask?

Sorry if the questions seem lame/dumb... I honestly am new to biking and have never dealt with a salesperson from a bike store. I just want to get the most out of my dollar and receive a reasonable amount of benefits (service and tune-ups) in return.

So for those out there who are a lot more experienced in dealing with various bike stores, please share any tips or words of wisdom. Thank you.

First off about the price for the bike. If you can get a $770.00 bike for $699.00. I would consider that as a good deal.