Newbie Being Offered a Deal. Is it Fair?

taximan89

Jan 20, 2010
Hello,

I'm a young man (20) looking to make some inroads into cycling. My motivation is for fitness mostly and I plan on building up to long distance scenic rides. I've been discouraged by the relatively high prices of even modest road bikes but I've come across a deal. I'm buying offered a 1982 Fugi Royal 2 58cm frame. I'm 5/10 and have long legs. The bike is said to be in excellent condition and the owner seems honest. He's asking for 100CDN. Is this a fair deal? I don't want or expect anything that great, just something that works and will go fast.

Hi

I'm a noob so take this with a pinch of salt, but Ive recently been buying a road bike and have complied some of the advice I got along my way buying incase it helps.

Someone on another forum told me some rules of thumb for bike sizing, measure your inner leg and knock 10" off it, or take 1/3rd of your height and thats roughtly what size you need (with a fairly big margin of error). Going on your height this says you require a approx 59cm frame, as they dont often come in 59 you will be looking at a 58 to 60 id imagine. So chances are that bike is the correct size. Its a very rough estimate though. The inner leg would be more accurate but your best bet might be to try going down a local bike shop and sitting on a few bikes, and get sized up properly.

I dont know if its a good deal in monetary terms, but if it doesnt fit well then its not a good deal whatever the price I guess. Can you ride it before you buy it?

Until recently I'd have just bought the bike I liked the look of with the specs I liked in the size the most shops said fits best. But having taken peoples advice and test rided a few bikes, sometimes similar specced bikes feel worlds appart.

I would get sized before purchasing a bike. Any shop should be able to do this at no cost.