Newbie brake question

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Paul, Mar 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul

Paul Guest

Hi, I guess that this is a pretty basic question, but I'm a novice and only just starting to get
    informed around doing my own maintainence.

My bike has just had a service to check that everything is ok for the summer. The front brake blocks
    were worn and so were replaced.

There is an occassional scuffing of a brake block against the rim of the front wheel. The wheel is
    aligned and the problem seems to be more about one of the brake callipers not fully returning to
    position after the brakes are applied. This was a problem that occassionally occured with the old
    blocks so I don't think that the change of blocks is a cause.

I've tried tightening the adjustment screw on the calliper to move it away from the rim a bit, my
    main question really (showing my lack of confidence I guess) is to ask whether I can cause any harm
    experimenting with the adjustment screws.

Thanks in advance to any experts out there who can help.

Kind Regards, Paul

Tags:

2. In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
    >
    >
    >Hi, I guess that this is a pretty basic question, but I'm a novice and only just starting to get
    >informed around doing my own maintainence. My bike has just had a service to check that everything
    >is ok for the summer. The front brake blocks were worn and so were replaced. There is an
    >occassional scuffing of a brake block against the rim of the front wheel. The wheel is aligned and
    >the problem seems to be more about one of the brake callipers not fully returning to position after
    >the brakes are applied. This was a problem that occassionally occured with the old blocks so I
    >don't think that the change of blocks is a cause. I've tried tightening the adjustment screw on the