Newbie : Burning calories with swimming?

R

Rich

I am new to swimming.

I was asked to stop running by the doctor. He recommended that I take up swimming instead.

I was interested in losing weight. Is it possible to lose a pound or two swimming? How many calories
can I burn swimming? How long will it take?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

[email protected] (Rich) wrote in message
news:<[email protected]>...
> I am new to swimming.
>
> I was asked to stop running by the doctor. He recommended that I take up swimming instead.
>
> I was interested in losing weight. Is it possible to lose a pound or two swimming? How many
> calories can I burn swimming? How long will it take?
>
> Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

As many calories as you can waste in swimming can be easily eaten back. You will become
stronger and keep being fat. The only way of losing fat is watching your meals, that is,
you must keep eating that same you eat now or less, plus a lot of new exercizing. Nothing
fancy here!

Nelson

On 7 Nov 2003 19:47:54 -0800, [email protected] (Rich) wrote:

>I am new to swimming.
>
>I was asked to stop running by the doctor. He recommended that I take up swimming instead.
>
>I was interested in losing weight. Is it possible to lose a pound or two swimming?

Yes, but if you aren't already a proficient swimmer, it will take a long time to get to the point
where you can burn as many calories in an hour of swimming as you could in an hour of running. You
can shortcut the process somewhat by using shorter zoomer style fins for a portion (maybe 30 - 40%)
of your total swimming workout. Once you learn the basic stroke techniques, one of your greatest
limiting factors will be lack of conditioning in the upper body. This takes a long time.

Also, keep in mind that swimming causes a different metabolic profile than running. By that, I mean
that compared to running, swimming is fueled more by carbohydrate metabolism and less by fat