Newbie here asking for opinions on what to buy

MattandTy'sDad

Sep 13, 2010
Hello,

I'm looking into purchasing my first road bike, mainly for fun, but I have a competetive side too so you never know.

Could you please post opinions on these two bikes:

2010 Motobecane Vent Noir:
http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/ventnoir_x.htm

or Cannondale CAAD9 6 from ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170538989501&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

I've read a lot of good things about the Motobecane Vent Noir, quality components and an overall great bike for the money, $699 from Cycle Spectrum (somewhat local) and free tune ups for life.

The Cannondale looks like a good deal for $920 on ebay, but shipping is $90 and I will probably have to pay a LBS to properly set it up, plus I'll need to purchase pedals as well.

I'm not too concerned about the approx $300 price difference especially if these bikes are comparable. But if the Cannondale is in a class by itself then I may go that route.

The Motobecane just seems like a very capable bike for the money as well as entry level.

Oh, by the way, I'm small stature at roughly 5'5" 145lbs and looking at 48cm bikes, any suggestions or input is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Andy

For $700 you're looking at a 5 year-old bike with Shimano Tiagra 9x3 STIs (dual control levers), a 105 10-speed rear derailleur, and Vuelta XRP Pro or Zerlolite (unspecified model) wheels. A lot has changed since this bike was made. XRP Pro wheels are no longer in the Vuelta catalog, and Zerolites are either $199.99 (Pro) or $149.99 (Comp). Having dealt with Vuelta's wheels and their warranty department, I am not as impressed as BikesDirect is.