Newbie here! Have a minute?

GinaNY

Aug 28, 2007
Don't know if this is where to start, but I bought my first bike in June (just got a little hybrid thing) but within about 20 miles I realized I had major BIKE LOVE.;) A few days later I learned that my next two favorite words were: GEL CHAMOIS.

So - I've been riding rail trails on the hybrid - flat, but still fun. I'm doing anything from 10 - 20 miles in a ride but I'm in pretty good shape, so I've never found out how far I could go if I had more time or knew of a better place to ride. In short, I'm ready for the next step.

I am planning to do two charity rides in September, 25 miles and 50 miles. But on my hybrid??

I assume it is time to grow up and buy a road bike, but I am overwhelmed.

Is there a place on this forum for me? I can see this becoming a MAJOR part of my fitness regime. I see the word century and I start to drool. I am so ready for this! Well - emotionally anyway. There is the small fact that I don't have the right bike, the right training etc. but that is why I'm here.:)

GinaNY said:
Don't know if this is where to start, but I bought my first bike in June (just got a little hybrid thing) but within about 20 miles I realized I had major BIKE LOVE.;) A few days later I learned that my next two favorite words were: GEL CHAMOIS.

So - I've been riding rail trails on the hybrid - flat, but still fun. I'm doing anything from 10 - 20 miles in a ride but I'm in pretty good shape, so I've never found out how far I could go if I had more time or knew of a better place to ride. In short, I'm ready for the next step.

I am planning to do two charity rides in September, 25 miles and 50 miles. But on my hybrid??