Newbie Intro Thread

Discussion in 'Next Generation' started by KeSs, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. KeSs

    KeSs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im not sure who is a mod but sticky this......


    This thread is just going to be a newbie thread, in other words, if you are planning to use this specific forum this applies to you.

    Tell us about yourself! Your age, where you live, sponsored, goals, avg. times, etc....



    So I will start.......

    Name: Sam Kessler
    Location Pittsburgh, PA
    Race? Yes, but i have yet to race in USCF sactioned events
    Goals? I got completly dedicated to cycling this past summer, my goal is to be able to compete in mens cat 4 by next summer
    Daily Training: I ride atleast 20 miles 6 days a week. At our city Criterium track I average about 22mph. I recently did a 20 mile road race and averaged 21.8. Just depends on if it is hilly or what not.
     
    Tags:


  2. gould86

    gould86 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Steven Gould

    Location: Northern Ontario, Canada

    Age: 17

    Racing: I live in the sticks, racing is my dream

    Training: My training varies but stays in a repeated pattern, usually an 80-100km ride on the weekend, short training rides on the weekdays (due to school, until i buy a trainer).

    Ultimate Goal: Race my bike for a living
     
  3. Bluey_27

    Bluey_27 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Andrew Mckernan

    Nickname: Andrew, Andy, Andy Spandy, Bluey

    Location: Victoria, Australia

    Age: 14

    Racing: None (just started)

    Bike: Giant OCR 2

    Training: weekends and sometimes on weekdays (after school)

    Longest Ride: 38kms (last sunday)

    Goal: Go Pro!

    U guys got MSN messenger? FordFalcon_BA@hotmail.com
     
  4. svcyclist

    svcyclist New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Brian Shank

    Location: Cranberry Twp., PA, USA

    Age: 15

    Racing: None...hope to begin next year

    Bike: MongoosePro

    Training: Ride a minimum 5 times a week: 25mi on Weekends, 15mi on weekdays (limited by school)

    Average Speed: 18.2mph over rolling to hilly terrain for an hour.

    Goals: Start a cycling team at my school. Get recognized at national level by 20 and get on a Pro team.
     
  5. Virenque

    Virenque New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Bostjan Pecnik

    Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

    Age: 18

    Racing: Its my first season, Im racing in our and neighbour countries (Italy, Austria, Croatia). I participated in 3 good international races in Italy..

    Bike: Gitane with Ultegra (I got Pinarello Marvel in club but I broke it in one race hehe..)

    Training: About 20-25 hours per week, 3-4 at least 125km (75 miles) trainings and recovery 40km (25 miles) trainings on other days. Its diferent from week to week..

    Average Speed: Min. 25 km/h (15mph) with climbs

    Goals: U-23 team!
     
  6. Yippie Kye Ay

    Yippie Kye Ay New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Scott Krankkala

    Location: Hailey, Idaho (Sun Valley)

    Age: 15

    Racing: One so far Idaho State Road Race Championship 4th place

    Bike: Trek 5200

    Training: Most weekends sometimes after school

    Longest Ride: 45 miles
     
  7. Virenque

    Virenque New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to write the longest ride! It was 200 km (124 miles)
     
  8. "Kid"

    "Kid" New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Robert Lahiff

    Age:12

    Location: Northville MI USA

    Racing: None

    Training 40-45 miles every day off of school

    Bike: Hand-me-down Novara REI road bike (thats all i know about it)

    Average speed:19-21 mph

    Longest ride: 67 miles (after 4 days of 50- 63 miles rides)
     
  9. Janky

    Janky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scott you are my hero! Its so cool that you are really into something and are good at. I can't wait to see how well you exel next year.
     
  10. Irish Indurain

    Irish Indurain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Daragh O'Reilly

    Location: Galway, West of Ireland

    Age: 18

    Previous experience: None in racing as just started this summer. Irish Champion in junior rowing 03,04.

    Bike: Dawes Giro 300(basic i know!)

    Training: 10 times a week. Rowing 8 times, Cycling 2 spins at weekend usually 60km each. (40km if rowing that morning) Avg speed: c.20mph

    Longest ride: 90km

    Weight and height: 5'9 and 66kgs

    Goals: begin transition into cyclist and hopefully be competitive in races
     
  11. roger0246

    roger0246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Roger Barrios

    Location: Orlando, FL

    Race: not yet, but looking soon.

    Bike: 04'Fuji Finest-AL

    Goals: To become an overall better cyclist

    Daily Training: I ride about 19 miles a day, school or no school. I try to keep a steady schedrule.
     
  12. Virenque

    Virenque New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    How old are you?
     
  13. roger0246

    roger0246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    forgot to put it, 16
     
  14. E500 C.E.

    E500 C.E. New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok i just got my first bike yesterday, so here are my stats as of today.

    Name: Elliot Ross
    Age: 17 (18 in less than a week)
    Location: Little Rock, AR USA
    Bike: Felt F80 '05
    Races: None
    Goals: Start racing in tri's next spring
    Training: so far, 10 miles a day on bike
    Avg speed: 16-17 mph
     
  15. rayner

    rayner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Rayner (we'll stick with that!)
    Age: 16 turning 17
    Location: Tasmania (little island state on the bottom of Australia)
    Bike: Old giant peloton 8400 for the road, custom made for track
    Racing: since 2000, 18 time state medalist, around 15th nationally in my age group on the track but looking to improve.
    Goals: Medals in scratch and kilo at nationals and youth olympics in 2005.
    Training: anything from 250-600 a week, 5-10 sessions.
    Avg speed: don't really look at it but I'd say around 30k an hour on longer rides sometimes less, generally more.
    Longest ride: 180k
    Height+Weight: around 177 ( 5'11?) and 70 kilo
    Sponsors: Vittoria and High5

    Think thats it. Good to finally see a section for us, hope to get to know you all a bit better.
     
  16. racer dave

    racer dave New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: David
    Age: 17 (18 in November)
    Bike: Spec. allez elite 2003
    City: Montreal, Canada
    Racing: Just finished my 1st season. I absolutely love it and I'm already thinking about next spring.
    Training: about 10-15hrs a week
    Avg. spd: obviously depends. I guess around 30km/h for solo rides. If we want an idea though, how about something more constant (I have no ideas)
    sponsors: a local bike shop, training centre and bank- all sponsors of my team, no personal sponsors.
    Goals: Short term: to place consistently in top 10 next season in provincial races, and hopefully win at least one race
    Long term: 1)to find a college where I can race on a scholarship (still don't know if that exists)
    2) to race bikes for a living. (who doesn't want that?)
     
  17. *Alice

    *Alice New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    try looking at John Abbott College.


    (i'm from montreal too! i now live in toronto :p )
     
  18. louinge

    louinge New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Kelsey
    Age: 18
    Bike: 2005 Specialized Allez Elite (got it 2 days ago)
    City: near Tallahassee, FL.
    Racing: I have done one mountain bike race as a beginner and I am hoping to start road racing in the spring. I'm also planning on doing a triathlon in March.
    Training: 4-5 days a week from 15 to 35 miles so far, plus running 4 days a week and swimming one day
    Avg. speed: 13 to 17 mph depending on the length of the ride and whether I'm riding alone or with someone
    Goals: to do a century ride in the next year and to get serious about road racing
     
  19. whoawhoa

    whoawhoa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Age: 14

    Training: 12-16 hours a week, with three or four hour rides on the weekends. Usually 200-240 miles.
    Racing: About 11 or 12 times this year, I am a Cat 5 on the road but hoping to move up to high 4 or even three next year! (Need mass starts in cat 5)
    Bike: EPX 303 for road, EPX Hammerhead for mountain
    Sponsors: Thomson! THe only posts and stems!
    Goals: Cat 3 by end of next year, top three at stae championship, turn pro eventually.
     
  20. Achilles

    Achilles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Name: Matt McKarney
    Age: 15 (soon 16)
    Location: Tampa area of Florida
    Weight: 190 Height: 6'5''
    Bike: Soon a 05' Trek 1000
    Sponsors: Obviously none yet
    Race: Within the coming year
    Goals: To be among the best
    Training: Starting with 10-20 miles a day
    Avg. Speed: 16-17mph
     
Loading...
Loading...