Newbie looking for input...

jackal858

Feb 23, 2008
Let me give a little bit of preface before you critique my finding for a bike. I am a college student on a pretty extreme budget. I am interested in getting into the sport with minimal financial consequence (both upfront and if the sport is abandoned). I have been trying to find a bike that will be my testing ground for whether or not I want to invent more at another time.

That being said, I have found this bike:
http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/windsor/wellington2.htm

I have asked one of my friends who is on my school's cycling team, and he is hesitant to tell me to get it, but seems to think it would be an "OK" starter bike. This is coming from a guy who has spent a thousands of dollars on bike equipment. This guy is a great friend, but I think his view might be a little askew, because to him, a $300 bike is ****. It seems that the components on this bike aren't spectacular, but aren't complete garbage either.

$300 is the upper limit of my budget (and that is even pushing it), and I'd like for you all to keep that in mind. I have done some looking around for used road bikes, and none have seemed in good enough condition for the price being asked to justify. I feel that at least with this Windsor, I would be getting all new parts which at least come with some kind of factory warranty.

Any advice, thoughts?