Newbie needing advice

hansbrea

Jul 8, 2011
I just started riding again 2 weeks ago and am loving it. I wanted to be a racer when I was younger but didn't have the support or monetary funds at home to do it. Somehow I got the bug a couple of weeks ago and decided better late than never. If nothing else, at least I'll hopefully get skinny again. /img/vbsmilies/smilies/smile.gif Fortunately I have a DH who is very supportive and told me to have at it.

Right now I have a Gary Fisher Marlin bike my parents bought me for college. I can't afford a new bike although DH wouldn't be opposed to it later when I am ready for an upgrade and actually racing. What are some tips, ideas, techniques or any other things you think of that would be helpful in getting me started? Right now I am doing a "fun" event next week and am not sure what to do to get ready for it. The things I know I need to do are:

A) take extra accessories off my bike I don't need - and hope someone has a bolt cutter to remove my old bike lock.

B) Dad, who rides a lot and his sister is racing nationals this year, says my tires are on backwards and explained I will want to get a new tire that has a continuous thread instead of my "aggressive" mountain bike tire as he called it. Any ideas on tires? Honestly, I am looking at these from WalMart because that is my budget. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Bell-Sports-26-Ultimate-Commuter-Comfort-Tire/15188841 Will they make a difference? Also, apparently a higher PSI helps you go faster from what I've read, is that correct? So, maybe new tubes, too?