Newbie needs advice

Sooner93

May 6, 2010
I have a question about training... I am new to cycling and just got my first real road bike (Specialized Roubaix Comp) and have been riding for only a week. I have been riding about 6-7 miles at a time with pace of about 14-15 mph. I recently found out about a 32 mile ride in my city that I would like to try. Unfortunately, it is only 4 weeks away.

Is this too much, too soon ?? I'm not in the greatest cardio shape, but feel I could probably go 10-12 miles without much problem. I thought maybe I could increase my long weekend ride by about 5 miles per week until the race. I'm very excited about riding, but do not want to have a bad experience in my first ride.

Thanks for any advice or training tips that I get !!!

Sooner93 said:
I have a question about training... I am new to cycling and just got my first real road bike (Specialized Roubaix Comp) and have been riding for only a week. I have been riding about 6-7 miles at a time with pace of about 14-15 mph. I recently found out about a 32 mile ride in my city that I would like to try. Unfortunately, it is only 4 weeks away.

Is this too much, too soon ?? I'm not in the greatest cardio shape, but feel I could probably go 10-12 miles without much problem. I thought maybe I could increase my long weekend ride by about 5 miles per week until the race. I'm very excited about riding, but do not want to have a bad experience in my first ride.

Thanks for any advice or training tips that I get !!!

Congrats on the Roubaix...great bike! You'll get many miles of smiles out of her.

On to your situation; without going into a dissertation here, the short of it is you should make plans on doing the event. I'd recommend increasing your milage in increments between now and the event until you can make 25-30 miles without issue, for example (adjust as necessary):

Week 1 (ride 4x/wk)
ride 1, 6-7 miles
ride 2, 7-9 miles
ride 3, 9-10 miles