Newbie Needs Assistance!

Hayzumi

Feb 20, 2013
Hey, all.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to road cycling, and bike mechanics, for that matter. I am 5'8", fairly well proportionate, with a 28-29" inseem.

I live in flat Miami, Fl, and currently have a budget of about $400, although I could go a bit higher.

Now, I have two questions. Considering I live in a hill-less city, would there be more benefit to a single-speed, as opposed to a geared bike?

And, I'm going to be using this for recreational and commuting purposes, with the fitness factor thrown in, of course.

The second question has to do with three particular bikes I'm eyeing; I need help deciding on one. Or, you could suggest other ones within my price range.

• The first is a 2010 Specialized Allez sport Compact -- it's lovely and the price is right, apparently.
  • Second -- 2006 Jamis Ventura Sport for $300.
  • Last -- 2011/2012 Gravity Liberty CX. This one I've been looking at because it's a a cyclocross and I hear it may be a better ride for my purposes.

There are a few other bikes out there that seem good for the price, but these seem to be the more likely contenders.

Thanks, again!

the craiglist one is a bit small for you, of the others i would pick the 2010 specialized allez compact in 52 or 54 size, ,you still need the gears for changing wind conditions or if you want to engage in training programs, or for the long run when you see yourself riding faster every year,

Originally Posted by vspa .

the craiglist one is a bit small for you, of the others i would pick the 2010 specialized allez compact in 52 or 54 size,
,you still need the gears for changing wind conditions or if you want to engage in training programs, or for the long run when you see yourself riding faster every year,
Hey, thanks, vspa.

I'm looking into an LBS, too. But it's far more expensive. The bike there was a 2013 Ginat Defy 5 -- or a no-name single speed.

Guys,

I'm bumping the thread with some more information.