Newbie needs help changing hub batteries

MtWash

Aug 23, 2006
Hi there,

I'm a total newbie so please be cool! :(

I have a PowerTap SL hub and I'm unable to remove the battery cap (black plastic cover). Is there a special way to do it? I put dishwashing gloves to have more grip and used all my arm muscles but the thing simply will not open.

Is there a special trick?

Thanks in advance!

I used pliers. Scratched up the black plastic a bit when I did it, so I would recommnd using pliers and a cloth.

--Steve

I agree, get some cloth and a set of adjustable width pliers (the ones where you have a choice of a few minimum jaws sizes - I can't remember the proper name)! Adjust them so the minimum jaw width is slightly smaller than the flats on the plastic hub shell (so you get a better grip than normal pliers) and away you go!

Mike

MtWash said:
Hi there,

I'm a total newbie so please be cool! :(

I have a PowerTap SL hub and I'm unable to remove the battery cap (black plastic cover). Is there a special way to do it? I put dishwashing gloves to have more grip and used all my arm muscles but the thing simply will not open.

Is there a special trick?

Thanks in advance!
The first time i had to do it, after trying unsuccessfully for 30min, was to use a pipe wrench/monkey wrench like the one below. Get the bottom plate of the wrench up against the notches on the cover for some better purchase.
Note - don't clamp it too tight as it may crack the plastic. Also put cloth in between the clamp and the plastic cover to avoid getting scuff marks on the cover. Others out there may have better solutions, but this was mine.

Don't overtighten it when you put it back on to avoid having to use a wrench in future.
pipe_wrench.gif

How about a strap wrench? Like so:

strapwrench.jpg

They'll have them at auto parts or home improvement stores.