Newbie needs help on adjusting my new shimano derailer on my 1974 Schwinn Varsity

dmfett

Jun 19, 2004
Good evening

I am a newbie to this forum but not to biking...I have no idea where to ask this question so I will do it here...please excuse me if this is the wrong place to ask this question....

I had a bike shop fix my 1974 Varsity last year...he replaced my chain and not the back 5 sprockets....when I put any tork (SP?) on it, it slips...So I lived with it and I was not too happy...so I replaced the derailer with the Shimano one today...

Got it working but can not get the chain to go to the smallest sprocket and also when I go into the larger sproket on the front I only get 3rd & 4th sprocket to work....we tried to adjust the two screws...

So to my question...is there any place I can get instructions on how to adjust it to work on all 10 speeds...

Also I may need to replace the back 5 sprockets (not sure of the proper name to call it) where can I get one and what tool do I need to get it off and where can I get it.

Thanks for all your help...I have a few other related bike question for a later date!

Dennis

This is how you adjust your rear derailur.

1. Shift into the largest gear in the back.
2. Adjust the limit screws that stick out. There are two. One is for the high, and one is for the low. Your going to have to figure out which does what. Look, and you will see where the screws contact a plate on the inside of the derailur. Make it so that the derailur won't go into the spokes and is lined up with the cog.
3. Shift into the lowest gear in the front.
4. Adjust this limit screw so that it is lined up with the lowest gear and not past it.
5. Next, your going to want to pedal the bike and shift the gears. If the chain is having trouble goinge either up or down, your going to have to fine tune it with the little knob where the wire meets the derailur. It twist, and should be easy to find. Play arround with this and you'll soon get it.

:cool: